Kitchen Cabinet Re-do

If any of you have ever painted your kitchen cabinets, you know what a big job it is. I made a decision right up front to take my time, don’t do any work unless I feel like it and do it right.

I have a fabulous mid-century, 1950’s retro kitchen complete with light yellow tiled walls halfway up and a black deco streak of tile running through the yellow all the way around my kitchen. It is all in excellent condition and I really love it. I have owned this house for 3-1/2 years now and it is time to give the cabinets some attention. The cabinets are custom built and I love them. There are lots of them, and they are very large with sturdy shelving. The finish on the cabinets is worn and really not very attractive. But the cabinets are – well, they just don’t make them like this anymore. So, I decided to do what I do best, transform them into something beautiful! I am lucky to have hardware that I love. They are marked with the designer on the backs and all the coordinating hardware is art deco style and in great condition.

I have looked at countless magazines, scoured Pinterest and have so many ideas that I like. I know only that I definitely want color, not all white. So I think the top cabinets only will be white and the bottom cabinets will be teal green. At least that’s the way I am leaning today….I had painted the walls on the other side of my kitchen dark green my first year in this house and I have always enjoyed it. I have European paintings on those large walls. One is Tuscany and another is a Paris cafe. I will keep that look. I have a lot of art and am thrilled to have such great wallspace in the kitchen!

After lightly sanding everything on one side of the kitchen, I primed with Kilz primer. That’s where I am now. I set up a work station in my basement where I sanded the doors front and back. Today I will prime them.

April 23, 2019

I have finished painting the wall cupboards and I can’t believe what a huge difference already in my Kitchen. I have a lot of vintage dishes and stuff so I choose to leave my cabinets open, except the corner where the spices and dry goods are.

I will leave everything open except the corner where the spices and dry goods are.

Let me just say this. I bought Benjamin Moore paint because I remember using it years ago and loving the coverage. But after 2 coats of primer and one coat of paint, I find that I will have to do another coat of paint. This is Benjamin Moore Regal, Semi Gloss “Distant Gray” (white). It is BM’s middle of the road latex paint. Yes, they now have a paint specifically for cabinets, but it is very expensive. So I am very disappointed in the quality and coverage of Benjamin Moore’s Regal line.

Over the past several years I have used Behr brand paint from Home Depot for painting walls and have been very happy with the coverage and quality. Again, using their middle of the road line. Behr simply covered better. So my next painting project will not be Benjamin Moore paint.

Here it is June 17th and my kitchen is complete! I had my new floor installed a week ago and couldn’t be happier! I think I kept the mid-century style of my house while bringing it into 2019 with paint colors, accessory lighting and new flooring. Another home improvement project done!

Teal “peacock” paint with original solid stainless steel hardware and new stainless steel appliances.
New pendulum light

3 comments

  1. Mary! Can’t wait to see the finished product. I painting my cabinets a couple of years ago and it was a lot of work but they came out wonderful and changed the entire look of the kitchen. I want to change the color and do it again but don’t have it in me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol Ann, you’re right on about the work involved. I knew it going in, but I am determined. Needless to say my entire upper body is sore and I am taking a break before starting the next section. Haha. Getting too old for this!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.